//
politics

It’s hard out there

In 2003, a certain set of people said I didn’t love my neighbor because I was suspicious of a certain set of Enlightenment philosophies and the politics they bred.

In 2011, another set of people (who really don’t like the former group of people) say I don’t love my neighbor because I am suspicious of a certain set of Enlightenment philosophies and the politics they breed.

It’s hard out there for a Hauerwasian.

About Nathan Gilmour

Nathan P. Gilmour is a Christian, a husband, a father, and a college English teacher. He tries to do all of that and write something worthwhile on occasion.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “It’s hard out there

  1. There might be, Jeff, but I’ve not met any. If there is such a thing as a “Hauerwasian Mafia” (a phrase Tony Jones coined and others followed), I’ve never been “made.”

    Writing only for myself, because I don’t believe that there’s any such thing as “the government” but only this or that regime, and because I think of multinational corporations as capable of becoming regimes in their own rights (they’re bigger players than several “governments,” traditionally conceived), I tend to prefer an American regime that can and will balance out the power of the multinationals. I haven’t seen one in my lifetime, but I’ve read in history books that such things are in fact possible in the American Republic. 🙂

    Posted by Nathan Gilmour | August 24, 2011, 4:24 pm
  2. Is there such a thing as Hauerwasistic Tea Partiers who want limited govt reps to shrink the size of govt, taxes & regulations in order to get out of the way and let the church be the church? Sort of like an offensive line clearing the way for a running back?

    Posted by Jeff Wright | August 24, 2011, 3:13 pm
  3. No, Gunny, you’re not unloving. We are a shifty set. 🙂

    Posted by Nathan Gilmour | August 24, 2011, 5:15 am
  4. Well, if it was easy, anybody could do it.

    Oh, am I unloving toward my neighbor if I am suspicious of Hauerwasians?

    Posted by Eric "Gunny" Hartman | August 23, 2011, 9:52 pm

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
