//
Doug Pagitt, politics

>Doug Pagitt to Run for MN State Legislature

>Doug PagittThis is a real head scratcher for me. I have similar feelings to Jeff on this subject (No Longer Afraid of Constantinianism). I have heard so many left of center Christians complain about the fusion of religion and politics. However, pretty much all of their criticism is directed at conservatives. On the other hand we have those on the left such as Jim Wallis and Sojourners and Brian McLaren and the Matthew 25 Network who are just the other side of the same coin (as people such as James Dobson and Focus on the Family). Now on top of that we have the emergent pastor of Solomon’s Porch running for the state legislature of Minnesota. You can read about it here. I never hear these same people complaining when it involves those on the left. Maybe those people worried about religion and politics being in bed with each other will speak out against this. I guess we’ll see what happens.

Related:
More Emerging Church Irony by Robert E. Sagers, The Henry Institute
Emerging Theology, Liberal Politics by Colin Hansen, The Morung Express

Discussion

9 thoughts on “>Doug Pagitt to Run for MN State Legislature

  1. >A sin? Well, I don’t what peoples intentions are when they are voting. I will say that you would be supporting a politician who supports unbiblical policies. Of course, there no perfect politicians…just like there aren’t any perfect people. This is kind of a sticky area. The Roman Catholic Church doesn’t allow many pro-choice politicians to partake in the Eucharist. With all of that said, I’ll say no it’s not a sin in and of itself to vote for a pro-choice Democrat. I don’t know peoples hearts and their intentions so I’ll leave the judging to God. Or maybe I’ll just take the eay way out and say that it’s above my pay grade. 😉

    Posted by J.Wizzle | November 9, 2008, 12:09 am
  2. >Thanks for the response. But more specifically, is it a sin to vote for a pro-choice Dem?The question sounds somewhat loaded, but given how strongly many conservative Evangelicals feel, the answer looks like it’s no brainer.

    Posted by David Cho | November 8, 2008, 11:59 pm
  3. >David,No, I do not believe that being a Democrat means that a person is not a Christian. I also don’t believe that being a Republican means that a person is a Christian. I disagree with the statement that a person cannot possibly be a Christian and support a Democrat.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | November 8, 2008, 9:00 pm
  4. >j.wizzle, Let me ask a very simple question.Do you think it was a sin to vote for Obama knowing his stance on abortion?I ask that because from Dan’s blog (and others), while they agree that while James Dobson goes too far in partisan politics, they strongly believe you cannot possibly be a Christian and support Democrats.Let’s not beat around the bush here. If your answer is Yes, I pledge not to post further comments on that. I will let your answer stand as the the last word in this thread.

    Posted by David Cho | November 8, 2008, 8:11 pm
  5. >Also, I should have added this before. The guy from your church has nothing but good things to say about you.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | November 7, 2008, 3:39 pm
  6. >Welcome, Doug. Fair enough. I, personally don’t have a huge problem about you running. My only problem is with those who have spoken out against what Jeff called the ‘religious right/Bush/evangelical alliance’. I expect them to speak out against this too. We’ll see if they do it though. Btw, I’m open to listening. I’ve read a book that you have contirbuted to. Also, I spend a lot of time on an emerging message board. I’ve also had many conversations with some one from your church (Tim L.). Now that’s not to say I know everything about you, but at least I try to listen.Also, just to reiterate, this post wasn’t so much about calling you out but those left of center Christians who have been loud critics of religion and politics mixing. Thanks for stopping by, btw.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | November 7, 2008, 3:37 pm
  7. >I think you be hard pressed to have found a time when I would have suggested that Christians should not be involved in civic life nor politics.There certainly are people who have suggested such things but it is not me.I would suggest that before you scratch too hard you spend a little time listening to me and not listening to people who talk about me.

    Posted by Doug Pagitt | November 7, 2008, 2:35 pm
  8. >If he wants to run let him run. But there was obviously some principle that was being violated by the Religious Right and the Bush-Evangelical alliance. What was that exactly and what has changed between then and now? Unfortunately it comes off looking as if the only thing that has changed is that the power has shifted to left. Since these Christians are leftists and political control is now in the hands of leftists everything is OK. So the only “principle” that was violated this past decade has been the audacity of non-leftist Christians speaking out and supporting policies Christians of the left don’t like.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | November 7, 2008, 12:32 pm
  9. >Wholeheartedly agreed.Tony Compolo is the one who opened my eyes to the futility of Evangelical political movement in the 80’s.He made a lot of good points. But then through the Clinton presidency, I can’t tell you how many times I saw him rubbing shoulders with Bill Clinton on TV.That culminated during the Lewinsky saga. After Clinton made one of his usual contrite speeches with a smirk on his face about his deed, Compolo was seen in the audience weeping, and later raving about Clinton’s penitence.I can tell you that a lot of my friends who respected Dr. Compolo felt betrayed.Not that there was anything wrong with reaching out to a friend in his darkest hour of need (which was his explanation), but there is no doubt in my mind that Tony Compolo allowed himself to be used, and he should have known better. That said, let’s be very careful about resorting to the “they do it too” tactic here. Not saying you are doing that.As to being on the other side of the same coin, they’ve got A LOT to catch up. I really hope that they don’t try to do that.Obama will reach out to these folks, and the temptation to be the James Dobson of the Left will be great. Let’s see how these guys do.

    Posted by David Cho | November 7, 2008, 1:56 am

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
