//
2008 Presidential Election, Barack Obama

>Congratulations to President-Elect Obama and His Supporters

>President-elect Barack Obama and his family on election nightThis is a historic day for America. Although I did not want this particular black American to become President of the United States due to his beliefs, proposals, and track record, I do recognize what a strongly symbolic moment this is for the nation.

Unfortunately, having our first black American elected President will not, in and of itself, improve race relations in our country but we shall see. Despite what the critics claim, I believe America is one of the least racist nations on the earth. We have come a long way from slavery to segregation to the present. This election appears to support this.

A Democrat-controlled White House, Senate, House and soon-to-be Supreme Court will not be good for our nation. This is not the Democrat Party of the Carter or Clinton administrations. The Democrats are much more leftist than they have been in the past. Will President Obama moderate his positions now that he has been elected? Some pundits think so but I do not think the House and Senate will allow him to do that. America is a center-right nation and our government will not represent the majority of the people.

This next couple of years will be interesting to say the least. Change has come to America and it will be change we will most likely come to regret. I look forward to the discussions that will follow in the weeks and months to come. For now, congratulations to President Obama and those who support him.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “>Congratulations to President-Elect Obama and His Supporters

  1. >Well said all. Yes, I agree, we ought to congratulate Obama. Further, we ought to support him where he agrees with us, voice our opinions when in disagreement, and most importantly, we ought to pray for him and his family. Obama may not be the man I voted for, but as a country, we must now, more than ever, unite and find common ground to resolve the issues together. We have done it in the past, and we’ll do it now and in the future. May God continue to bless us all and the United States of America.

    Posted by hylander | November 6, 2008, 4:30 am
  2. >Not to be a stickler, but it’s President-elect Obama. He ain’t sworn in until 1/20/09.

    Posted by crajay | November 6, 2008, 1:48 am
  3. >Whoo Hoo! We never have to hear about race again! Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton declare end to race-baiting careers! That’s what this means right?

    Posted by Jared Nelson | November 5, 2008, 1:18 pm
  4. >This morning a fellow (American) PhD student told me he felt dejected over the election and expressed his dissatisfaction with returning and living in the U.S. I immediately rebuked him and told him now is a time to be proud to be an American. Just because it doesn’t go our way doesn’t mean we turn our backs on our great country. The more I live in England, the more I love America. I think worry at this point is an over-reaction. If Obama can assemble a team together to pull of the election in such grand style, I’m sure he can assemble other great people around him. Anyway, I can’t wait to get back and get my free gas and mortgage reimbursement. I’ve already had free health care and after a year, I think I’d rather pay for it. Congratulations to President Obama. Now is the time for believers to begin to pray for him and our country. I think he will do fine. Do not let your hearts be troubled.

    Posted by Mark Mathews | November 5, 2008, 10:00 am
  5. >Despite what the critics claim, I believe America is one of the least racist nations on the earthI have challenged critics to name a country that is better than America to live as a racial minority. America is second to none in that regard.

    Posted by David Cho | November 5, 2008, 6:45 am
  6. >I think it is. After all, Obama had to move to the right (or at least pretend to) in order to win the election.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | November 5, 2008, 5:51 am
  7. >IS America still, in fact, a center-right nation? I’m not so sure. Doesn’t shake my convictions, but I don’t think most Americans see the world the way I do.

    Posted by Dwight Watson | November 5, 2008, 5:42 am

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
