//
Barack Obama, Randy Alcorn

>A Humble Suggestion for my Obama-Supporting Brothers & Sisters in Christ

>Randy AlcornPlease read Randy Alcorn’s “Not Cool: Obama’s Pro-abortion Stance, and Christians enabling him.”

Aside from our regular Friend of Grace Friday links I usually do not just link to an article and say “Here, read this” but that’s exactly what I want to do today. I just finished reading Randy Alcorn’s blog-post “Not Cool: Obama’s Pro-abortion Stance, and Christians enabling him.” If you do not know who Randy Alcorn is, here’s a quick blurb from his website:

“Randy Alcorn is the founder and director of Eternal Perspective Ministries (EPM), a nonprofit organization dedicated to teaching biblical truth and drawing attention to the needy and how to help them. EPM exists to meet the needs of the unreached, unfed, unborn, uneducated, unreconciled and unsupported people around the world.”

I’m not going to post a bunch of excerpts from the article because that I cannot reduce what he has written to a few quotes but I do want to share two things Randy says at the outset in order to show you where he is coming from. He says,

“I didn’t care that Obama was a Democrat. I wanted a pro-life, pro-environment, pro-racial equality president who took seriously our need to care for the poor and defend the needy.”

And,

“I relished the opportunity to show I wasn’t a lockstep Republican. I was, and still am, tired of the Pat Robertson sort of Republicanism that supported proabortion-Republican-who-publicly-cheated-on-his-wife Rudy Giuliani because he’s the only guy who could beat Hillary. (This was a non-prophetic endorsement on too many levels to count.)”

I share these two statements because I know that this is where many of you are also coming from because you have told me so. If you are a follower of Christ who has concerns similar to the ones Randy has expressed and are planning of voting for Obama, please read this article. Despite his above-mentioned concerns he explains why he cannot vote for Barack Obama. I cannot vote for Obama for many other reasons that you and I may disagree upon but I’m convinced that the reasons expressed by Randy should also convince you to reconsider your decision to vote for Barack Obama.

I’d love to hear what you think about what Randy Alcorn has written. Read the article and leave a comment. I’m looking forward to the discussion.

[Coming Soon: Since someone will probably suggest in return that I read Donald Miller’s reasons for supporting Barack Obama, I will post a response to this interview with Miller soon.]

Discussion

One thought on “>A Humble Suggestion for my Obama-Supporting Brothers & Sisters in Christ

  1. >Good article. I posted it on a message board that I go to.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | October 18, 2008, 2:20 pm

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
