//
Blog of the Week

>Blog of the Week: The Rebelution

>Friend of Grace Blog of the Week

“Our world cannot last another generation of Christian young people who fit in. The shackles of society are on our minds and hearts, not our ankles. We are held back only by the myth of adolescence and the lies of social expectations. If we would only recognize that our restraints are illusory, and then let God’s Word and all of history govern our sense of what we are capable of, we would be a force this world could no longer ignore.”

Teenagers are wasting some of the best years of their life. Adolescence has become a time in life when young people have little to no responsibilities and are expected to accomplish very little. Alex and Brett Harris have decided to rebel against the low expectations of society.

“The word ‘rebelution’ is a combination of the words ‘rebellion’ and ‘revolution.’ So it carries a sense of an uprising against social norms. But in this case, it’s not a rebellion against God-established authority, but against the low expectations of our society. It’s a refusal to be defined by our ungodly, rebellious, and apathetic culture. Actually, we like to think of it as rebelling against rebellion.”

I’m reading the Harris brother’s book Do Hard Things right now and I recommend it to any teenager and even adults who have let themselves become satisfied with just getting by. They don’t just talk about doing hard things but are meeting the challenge head-on. Check out The Rebelution blog for yourself and recommend it to a young person today. Its not too late to redeem this important time of life.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “>Blog of the Week: The Rebelution

  1. >Hello Wesley. You and the Harris’ may be thinking similarly on this because the name signifies rebelling against rebellion. Link.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | September 11, 2008, 11:22 am
  2. >Sounds great in general from what I see!I only have that nagging institutional-loving, anti-antiestablishment revulsion at the name…but being “radical”, “rebel” or “revolutionary” seems to be something that most people that are not me catch on to.Oh well, teens pursuing a life of virtue is more important then my quibbles I suppose.

    Posted by Wesley | September 11, 2008, 3:25 am
  3. >Here are the Harris’ “three strategies fir stepping higher” (pp. 92-93):1. “Do what’s hard for you.” Pretty straightforward. Some people, for instance, are terrified of public speaking while are enjoy it. Choose something that’s going to challenge you, take you outside your comfort zone. 2. “Be known for what you do (more than what you don’t).” I’m sure many of the former fundamentalists among us, myself included, can appreciate this one. Yes, you don’t smoke, have premarital sex, attend wild parties, etc. But what do you do? Adults create low expectations for teens when they say things like “well, at least they’re not out smoking pot.” That’s a very low expectation. That’s not good enough.3. “Pursue excellence, not excuses.” Good grades come easy from some people. Some excel in sports. We can learn to get by with minimal effort in the areas we naturally excel in and still produce good results. But we’re not challenging ourselves when we do this. We’re settling and not really growing when we do this.Hard questions to identify complacency (p. 101):1. “What areas of my life do I not care about that I know I should care about?”2. “In what areas have I fallen short of God’s standards and my own potential?”3. “In what areas have I settled for just getting by when I know I could do better if I really tried?”4. “In what areas have I decided that things ‘will always be this way’ without ever putting in the kind of effort that really changes things?”That should give you a bit of an idea. They provide a lot of examples from experiences where they have pushed themeselves to “do hard things” along with many stories from other teenagers. Some of the examples are excellent. Many a teenager could benefit from reading the book.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | September 11, 2008, 1:45 am
  4. >I did indeed. Now I’m doubly interested. Perhaps I’ll save my pennies and my Borders credit.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | September 10, 2008, 7:27 pm
  5. >Uh-oh…I just checked their blog and they go to Patrick Henry College. 🙂 Nate, didn’t you read a book and write a series about that school?

    Posted by J.Wizzle | September 10, 2008, 3:59 pm
  6. >I’m interested but don’t have the shekels right now to buy a new book. What sorts of practices do the Harrises propose as counter-disciplines? I think I get the overarching idea but don’t have as clear an idea how it plays out after one reads the last page.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | September 10, 2008, 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
