//
Uncategorized

What of Bob Barr?

Barr 2008 Campaign Website

I ask this partially as a response to the recent Politics with Mike post and partially just out of curiosity because old “Barr’s Just Gooder” Bob Barr (see the YouTube below) is, as far as I can tell, now the official Libertarian party candidate, and I wonder how our Georgia boys fare in these things.

So I’ll ask.

What do folks make of Barr’s run? He’s claiming to be a bigger force than Nader was in 2000 or 2004 (that sounds like a threat to me), and a brief read of his campaign website makes me think that his ideas are more in line with some folks’ around here than would be McCain’s. I’ve got my own hunches, but I want to read some of your responses before I proceed.

And now, for your viewing pleasure, one of the first political ads that greeted me when I moved to Georgia in 2002:

About Nathan Gilmour

Nathan P. Gilmour is a Christian, a husband, a father, and a college English teacher. He tries to do all of that and write something worthwhile on occasion.

Discussion

25 thoughts on “What of Bob Barr?

  1. >McCain is bad….Obama is worse.Slap that on a bumper sticker. I’d buy it.

    Posted by Matt | July 17, 2008, 4:43 pm
  2. >Did anyone watch the “Big John” video that I linked to?

    Posted by J.Wizzle | July 17, 2008, 4:40 pm
  3. >OK, finally watched the video. That was one of the most pointless ads ever.LOL Now imagine that’s the first thing you see (over and over and over) on TV when you move to a new place. You can imagine what kind of first impression I got of Georgia. šŸ˜‰

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | July 17, 2008, 10:57 am
  4. >As for why people don’t start with the congressional seats etc., the problem is the two parties have the decks stacked against it. The rules (at least here in Texas) all play off how many votes your candidate got *in the last presidential vote*.

    Posted by von | July 17, 2008, 3:13 am
  5. >OK, finally watched the video. That was one of the most pointless ads ever.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | July 17, 2008, 3:03 am
  6. >Then we will have President Obama and all the disasters of the left that come with that, i.e., the partial birth abortion ban will be abolished and God knows what will happen to us foreign policy-wise around the world. A lot of deaths to allow us to feel idologically pure and stick our finger in the GOP’s eye. Might be our own eye we lose.

    Posted by Jeff Bailey | July 17, 2008, 12:05 am
  7. >But we have to live in the real world and the cold hard fact is that you have to choose the lesser of two evils.IMO this is dangerous thinking. It’s a false dichotomy like: “would you prefer to be a house nigger or field slave?” Settling for anything less than total freedom is a sellout. Giving McCain a vote gives the GOP false hope that they’re doing right; that people are willing to compromise. But the truth is, more and more of us are NOT willing to become servants of the political monarchy.

    Posted by Mike | July 16, 2008, 11:14 pm
  8. >Easy now, she is the Queen!

    Posted by Mark Mathews | July 16, 2008, 10:22 pm
  9. >I agree Jeff….the answer is to work harder to get your candidate (whoever that would be) nominated in the primaries. I am stumped by folks who are outraged that McCain had the gall to get votes and win primaries. We can’t allow that…how dare he?BTW—Lyndon Larouche hasn’t been in jail for years and he still insists that the Queen of England directs the world drug trade. She does look kind of shifty….

    Posted by Jeff Bailey | July 16, 2008, 9:50 pm
  10. >”Where is Lyndon LaRouche when you need him?”Probably in prison.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | July 16, 2008, 9:31 pm
  11. >”We think Mccain might be better than Obama but he’s still big government.This is a good point. I look at Reagan -> GHW Bush -> Dole -> Bush -> McCain and admit that there is a lot there that I do not like. If we only say “but look how bad the other guy is!” we may also get GOP candidates who are worse and worse in the meantime and when we look back over twenty we’re in a place we never wanted to be. We can go one step forward, two steps back and that really bothers me. But I still have confidence that conservative, pro-liberty candidates can hold sway in the primaries and we can make another go of it next time. I see some good strength in many GOP Congressmen. So while I’m aware that we are open to manipulation in the 2-party system I’m not prepared to abandon it at this time. You guys build a new party and we’ll try to hold down the fort in the meantime. Hopefully that fort is not the Alamo.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | July 16, 2008, 9:30 pm
  12. >I agree that the Republicans have been naughty children. But that’s the nature of all politicians. There will be no heaven on Earth with anyone elected, Dem or Rep.But we have to live in the real world and the cold hard fact is that you have to choose the lesser of two evils. McCain is bad….Obama is worse. A third party election ain’t gonna happen. Where is Lyndon LaRouche when you need him?

    Posted by Jeff Bailey | July 16, 2008, 9:17 pm
  13. >Ha, I thought you meant his “being.” I got scared for a second.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | July 16, 2008, 9:08 pm
  14. >His “REIGN” paved the way… not his reing. šŸ™‚

    Posted by Mike | July 16, 2008, 9:05 pm
  15. >Jeff,What you’re saying is understandable. However, my last vote for liberty wound up with Bush who gave us guns but took away our soul. He has utterly trampled the constitution and has thrown us into economic turmoil. His reing paved the way for Obama and others like him. We think Mccain might be better than Obama but he’s still big government.

    Posted by Mike | July 16, 2008, 9:04 pm
  16. >And how much leverage do you think a third party President would have to pass legislation in Congress? About the same chance as getting elected…..zero.Sorry but Barr still looks like a guy that once sold me a very bad used car. I’m begging you Bob….please shave that dreadful mustache.

    Posted by Jeff Bailey | July 16, 2008, 8:53 pm
  17. >I am voting against Obama and the philosophies, policies he represents as well as against what will follow yet another reign of Dem executive and legislative leadership with the judicial soon to follow after retirements. I don’t deny that there are definite things I am voting against.I am voting for many things as well. One thing I am voting for is the most conservative, pro-liberty candidate…who has a chance to win. So I am not a purist, so be it. Why with “a chance to win”? Because you have to win in order to advance these policies of yours that you believe are best for the nation. I didn’t say ideas because they are advanced in many others more effective ways. We’re talking policy, legislation, executive orders, appointments, etc. Winning elections doesn’t always mean your policies will then pass and losing elections doesn’t mean you can’t gain some legislative victories but you pretty much are not going to see your philosophy advanced. Each party is comprised of various coalitions and these coalitions disagree on some points but find overall agreement on some core issues. I may not agree with McCain on some important issues but I agree with him on other important issues. And the only other candidate with a chance of winning would be disastrous for us. So I am voting pragmatically for and against. Will I always take this approach? I don’t know. Its the approach I’ve taken for almost a decade. Perhaps I will discard it as events unfold over time. I wish movement Libertarians & Constitution Party-ists well. Perhaps 50 years from now a presidential candidate of yours will be able to garner 1/3 of the vote. I wish you would vote LP on the congressional level and GOP on the presidential but I understand that is not going to happen. I can forsee a time when I might not be able to “be” a Republican any longer but that time has not come. I hope it never does actually. I’d like to see the party become more conservative but this is unlikely unless the country as a whole becomes more conservative. Anyway, I’ve gone on long enough.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | July 16, 2008, 8:30 pm
  18. >I think of voting entirely as a positive gesture, that it’s “for” the best candidate, not “against” a statistical favorite. Right on Nate. I think that every Barr vote will encourage more people to take a look at the LP which will in turn have a positive affect on the congressional seats.The only way the two party system has held so much sway is because people allow it. My vote for Barr is a vote for liberty, period. šŸ™‚

    Posted by Mike | July 16, 2008, 7:57 pm
  19. >Nate, I think I have a political ad that actually beats that. :Phttp://youtube.com/watch?v=0vcB7uCqdFk

    Posted by J.Wizzle | July 16, 2008, 7:57 pm
  20. >As long as everyone views the video, I’ll be happy.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | July 16, 2008, 7:12 pm
  21. >I actually took the time to watch the LP convention live on CSPAN one weekend (some of it). I was hoping Barr would win because I have liked him in the past and the other candidates were an embarrassment frankly. The conventions and other gatherings of the third parties are painful to watch because it comes across as a low-budget freak show that sort of scares you away from wanting to associate with them. The Barr vs. McCain comparison is an interesting one. If that was my choice in the GOP primary I’m sure I would vote for Barr. I was in favor of 3rd parties in the 90’s but no longer. Particularly, I was in favor of Buchanan running 3rd party/indie in ’96 after he lost to Dole. We have a two-party system. Period. The GOP and Dems have everything stacked against 3rd parties. The phony debate rules, the money rules. Its not gonna happen unless you have a tremendously popular, charismatic, candidate who just so happens to enter the scene when the climate is just right for people to consider a 3rd option. I agree with J_Wizzle, start with congressional seats and go from there. This is what others should have done such as Buchanan, Forbes, and others. I might like many of Barr’s positions but I’m not going to vote for the Libertarian candidate because…I’m not a Libertarian. If I had become convinced that the LP was the way to go from here forward, if I had some sort of conversion experience in this regard then I would vote for him. But that’s not the case. I did at least take a look at him this year though.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | July 16, 2008, 5:50 pm
  22. >What I don’t get is this, if third parties really want to start something then why aren’t they focusing all of their resources on local races and trying to get elected to Congress? Once they make a name for themselves and get more support then maybe they could think about a run at the White House. To run before then doesn’t make sense to me.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | July 16, 2008, 5:27 pm
  23. >I figured as much. I know you and Jeff, for better or for worse, are more about working within the 2-party system than you are about organizing against it. As I’ve told you before, I think of voting entirely as a positive gesture, that it’s “for” the best candidate, not “against” a statistical favorite. I also think that there’s little excuse, in the Internet age, not to organize against it, but I know full well that I’m in about a five-percent minority in that respect.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | July 16, 2008, 5:10 pm
  24. >*meant to say that I am NOT in favor of voting third party and singing while at the voting booth. šŸ˜‰

    Posted by J.Wizzle | July 16, 2008, 2:58 pm
  25. >Barr is not a typical Libertarian. There was a lot discussion and backlash at the LP convention because some were saying that he isn’t truly ‘one of them’. The argument was that having him as the LP candidate would confuse the public about what the LP is about. He disagrees with the LP on issues such as abortion. Barr isn’t a bad guy but I will not vote for him. I am in favor of voting third party and singing while at the voting booth. šŸ˜‰ Others are free to, but I don’t think it’s smart. By voting for Barr, I would only be taking away a vote from McCain and helping Obama (since they are the only two candidates with any real chance of winning). Also, I think that third parties such as the Green and LP should focus more on winning Congressional seats before trying to take the White House. Just some thoughts.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | July 16, 2008, 2:57 pm

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles Ā© 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
