//
Higher Education

>Going for a PhD is not for everyone

>This is starting to make its way through the blogoshpere so some of you may have already seen it but I want to share it here anyway. Professor John Stackhouse recently posted “Thinking about a Ph.D.?, Suggestions for Master’s Degree-Level Students Considering Ph.D. Studies, especially in Religion, Theology, and the Like.” I found it to be detailed and thoughtful. Although some of the items are fairly intuitive, putting it all together like this is helpful. The points he raised should be enough to scare off anyone who is considering a Ph.D. for the wrong reasons. Perhaps some of you who have gone through or are going through the process can give us some additional insights about motivations, the work of the program, family life, the job search afterwards, etc.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “>Going for a PhD is not for everyone

  1. >I think his assessment is accurate. I found question #2 to be especially important:”Do I find delight in long hours of intense, extended, solitary study?Have I found some of my greatest satisfaction in researching and writing long research papers? Would I like to write more?”If you have this sick fetish, go ahead, jump in! If not, thank the Lord each and every day!!!

    Posted by Mark Mathews | July 9, 2008, 4:27 pm
  2. >He’s the one who sent it to me originally.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | July 7, 2008, 8:25 pm
  3. >Is there a joke I’m missing?

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | July 7, 2008, 8:09 pm
  4. >I knew this was a good article. 🙂

    Posted by J.Wizzle | July 7, 2008, 6:39 pm
  5. >Not a bad summary of the perils of Ph.D work. I’d add to it what my seminary mentor told me as I applied for programs: if you could live without a Ph.D, don’t even apply. And where I am right now, dissertation and job hunt under way, I’d add what my theology-and-literature professor tole me, that the smartest people don’t always make it through the Ph.D program; the folks who make it through are the ones stubborn enough that they never believe the people and events that tell them they’re not the best of the best.With regards to the job hunt, perhaps I’ll have more to say in a few months or so.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | July 7, 2008, 12:31 pm

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
