//
Uncategorized

>Pray With Whom

>Upon the arrival of Pope Benedict, a friend posed a question concerning prayer. He wanted to know if it was alright for Christians to pray with other religions. Naturally, a conversation has ensued. However, the topic has moved from a broad brush stroke of religions to a narrower topic on Jews specifically. Basically the question now is, is it alright for Christians to pray with Jews? Or do Jews pray to the same God as Christians? Any thoughts, comments?

Discussion

4 thoughts on “>Pray With Whom

  1. >God is Triune: agreed.If I pray with a person of a different faith, who am I praying to?–What the other person believes does not change what I believe. I’m still praying to the Triune God in the name of Jesus.The god of that faith does not exist: agreed.Aren’t you creating a false God?–No. She might be, but I still believe what I believe….or at least tolerating the idea of a false god?–I suppose if by tolerating you mean letting her believe what she believes while I believe what I believe, then yes. But really, what other choice do we have? I have no control over what she believes, and really, it’s between her and God.How are we to approach prayer with Jews now?–I’m not an expert on prayer by any means, but my best guess is that we approach prayer with Jews just like we approach prayer with any other person who has not yet trusted Christ. We pray, believing that God hears our prayers because of Jesus’ work on the cross. If the person next to us doesn’t believe that, then perhaps God hears her prayers, and perhaps not (I think we are sometimes a little too quick to assume we know the mind of God)–but it doesn’t change my conviction.

    Posted by E. Peevie | May 5, 2008, 2:53 pm
  2. >I think it does have relevance. For starters, God is triune. There is no other god that exists. So, if you deny the Trinity, you deny the God who is. Secondly, if you pray with a person of a different faith, who are you praying to? Again, the god of that faith does not exist. So, aren’t you creating a false god, or at least tolerating the idea of a false god? The conundrum occurs with the Jews because they obviously prayed to and worshiped the correct God in the Old Testament. But now they deny Jesus, so how are we to approach prayer with them now?

    Posted by Michael Freitag | May 1, 2008, 7:09 pm
  3. >Why would it not be all right for me to pray with a Jew? Does what I think of another person and his or her beliefs have any relevance?

    Posted by E. Peevie | May 1, 2008, 5:32 pm
  4. >Wow. Tough question.On the one hand, a non-trinitarian God is not the same God that we pray to. On the other hand, the Jewish God is obviously the same God we pray to.In my experience, Jews are pretty tolerant of other peoples’ ideas. They might see your willingness to pray with them to the same God as a means of “bridging the gap” between the faiths, and likewise “bridge the gap” by allowing you pray in Jesus’ name.Somehow the answer “I would not pray with a Jew” doesn’t seem right to me.

    Posted by Matt | May 1, 2008, 2:17 pm

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
