//
Lord's Day, Worship

>Open Discussion: Lord’s Day Worship

>The ride home from church. Christian message boards. The Sunday dinner table. Blogs. These are all places where we engage in one of our favorite past-times: criticizing the Sunday service.

Rather than falling into that temptation, I thought it’d be good to encourage discussion about what was elevating, encouraging, convicting, edifying, or otherwise worshipful and God-glorifying from our times of corporate worship today.

What’s one good thing from your time of worship today you could share with us?

Discussion

9 thoughts on “>Open Discussion: Lord’s Day Worship

  1. >I know I’m late to this party, but I like the idea of talking about our worship life.Here’s my post about my pastor’s sermon on The Beautiful Waste–the woman who broke a valuable alabaster jar and poured the costly ointment on Jesus:http://greenroomthoughts.blogspot.com/2008/03/alabaster-jar.htmlThanks for an interesting blog.E. Peevie

    Posted by E. Peevie | April 11, 2008, 5:41 pm
  2. >Been reading your blog for awhile now – good stuff! We had a visiting pastor that preached on Eph. 1 reminding us that all three persons of the Trinity are involved in our salvation. It was excellent!

    Posted by Reformed Renegade | April 1, 2008, 10:56 pm
  3. >My 17 yr. old daughter and I had quite a few opportunities to do this Sunday morning!! As part of the “Survey of Denominations” course we have her doing, she and I visited a different denomination/church early yesterday morning, and then attended our own church with our family.One thing we noticed and commented on was the content of hymns sang at both churches–we were encouraged and edified through both services. We both appreciate the care taken in selecting and promoting theologically sound hymns/songs.

    Posted by Connie | March 31, 2008, 1:50 pm
  4. >My favorite part of the service is the same as Jeff’s. I think if nothing else, the confession of sin is what I need each Sunday. If I cannot say “I am a sinner” I deceive myself. He who is forgiven much…

    Posted by Jared Nelson | March 31, 2008, 4:05 am
  5. >I always appreciate the time we take early in the service for a prayer of confession followed by a word about our assurance of forgiveness. We fall short and we sin in various ways each week and its good to confess this together and be reminded the forgiveness we have in Christ.I like that. I wish my church would do that.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | March 31, 2008, 12:51 am
  6. >I always appreciate the time we take early in the service for a prayer of confession followed by a word about our assurance of forgiveness. We fall short and we sin in various ways each week and its good to confess this together and be reminded the forgiveness we have in Christ.Also, the kids are in the service every 5th Sunday of the month and they sang from the front during one of the songs. Our pastor was a little choked up as he came up to pray after they sang and mentioned how great it is to see your kids singing like that. I appreciate his ability to be real and open about things like that.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | March 30, 2008, 11:51 pm
  7. >Our service wasreally good today. Our usual pastor didn’t preach today. Instead the pastor of our middle school ministry preached (this was the first time I’ve ever heard him preach). I was pleasantly surprised. The sermon was titled “The Big You-Turn” and was on Luke 13:6-9 and need for repentance.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | March 30, 2008, 9:57 pm
  8. >I started a new sermon series on Philippians and we sang “Rejoice, the Lord Is King!”In a book dealing so heavily with “joy” by one in seemingly joy-deprived circumstances, I am reminded that we can always have joy, knowing He rules and reigns over His people and all of creation.His kingdom cannot fail, He rules o’er earth and heav’n.The keys of death and hell are to our Jesus giv’n.Lift up your heart. Lift up your voice! Rejoice, again I say, rejoice!That sets a good tone for my week.

    Posted by GUNNY | March 30, 2008, 9:01 pm
  9. >Our congregation had the president of Atlanta Christian College as our guest preacher, and his talk on the Christian college and the mission of the Church reinforced some of the things that I’ve been thinking and writing about lately.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | March 30, 2008, 7:11 pm

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
