//
Friend of Grace Fridays

>Friend of Grace Fridays

>Friend of Grace Fridays: Our Mafia mascot, Grace, provides a weekly collection of posts from blogs we dig or otherwise find interesting.

Friend of Grace Interviews of Interest by Justin Taylor, Reformation 21 blog. Well-known pastors & theologians interview Tim Keller, Ben Stein, Tom Schreiner and others.

Friend of Grace “It Won’t Affect My Church” by Debbie Kaufman, Thoughts of a Christian Woman. “I hear the words I have chosen for a title a lot lately. ‘Why should I care what happens in the Southern Baptist Convention? It doesn’t really affect my church.’ But is that statement true? And if it is true, isn’t that statement a little self absorbed?”

Friend of Grace Debate 2-hr. debate between James White and Gregg Strawbridge on baptism (link to free mp3).

Friend of Grace The Hermeneutics Quiz by BuildingChurchLeaders.com. This quiz has been floating around for the past few weeks and I finally went ahead and took it when someone sent it to me this week. I scored a 54 which is “moderate.” “Ever wonder how two people can look at the same passage of the Bible and come away with such different applications? The ways we interpret the Bible, and what enters into our process of applying the Bible, are important for us to be aware of. Without this self-awareness, we can have blind spots in our Bible reading and not even know it.”

Friend of Grace Economic Facts and Fallacies by Thomas Sowell [New Book]. “From one of America’s most distinguished economists, a short, brilliant and revelatory book: the fundamental ideas people most commonly get wrong about economics, and how to think about the subject better. Economic Facts and Fallacies exposes some of the most popular fallacies about economic issues–and does so in a lively manner and without requiring any prior knowledge of economics by the readers. These fallacies include many beliefs widely disseminated in the media and by politicians, such as fallacies about urban problems, income differences, male-female economic differences, as well as economics fallacies about academia, about race, and about Third World countries.”

Friend of Grace A Brief for Whitey by Patrick J. Buchanan, HumanEvents.com. “How would he pull it off? I wondered. How would Barack explain to his press groupies why he sat silent in a pew for 20 years as the Rev. Jeremiah Wright delivered racist rants against white America for our maligning of Fidel and Gadhafi, and inventing AIDS to infect and kill black people? How would he justify not walking out as Wright spewed his venom about “the U.S. of K.K.K. America,” and howled, “God damn America!” My hunch was right. Barack would turn the tables.”

Discussion

4 thoughts on “>Friend of Grace Fridays

  1. >I got a 55 which makes me a ‘moderate.’

    Posted by J.Wizzle | March 30, 2008, 2:29 am
  2. >That was another nice feature of the quiz. I suppose my amusement was that typical Catholic readings and typical feminist readings both got placed down at the “progressive” ends of things. The Catholics and the feminists I know would have some problems with that. But they did the same with (what I assume they would label) the “conservative” end, putting Seventh-Day Adventists in with the Missouri Synod Lutherans and the Southern Baptists.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | March 29, 2008, 2:01 pm
  3. >I at least liked that you could choose a “somewhere between 1 and 3” answer.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | March 29, 2008, 2:40 am
  4. >I pulled a 72 on the hermeneutics quiz, so they labeled me “progressive.” I should tell my colleagues in the English department; they’d get a kick out of that.As with most online quizzes, I thought the phrasing of the questions was more interesting than the result I got. I will say for this quiz that neither end had a predetermined “type” as so many do. Instead the one-end drifted between a generic-flavored evangelicalism and a sectarian literalism, while the other end ran a spectrum that seemed to include Catholicism, feminism, and liberalism.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | March 29, 2008, 2:30 am

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
