//
2008 Presidential Race, Fred Thompson, John McCain

>Attention Fred Heads: Thompson Endorses McCain

>Not sure how I missed this before but Fred Thompson endorsed John McCain on Friday. This was inevitable now that McCain is clearly going to win. Will it make a difference for conservatives?

Fred Thompson Endorses John McCain
NASHVILLE, Tenn. – On Friday, the one-time Republican presidential candidate Fred Thompson endorsed Sen. John McCain. Thompson said the GOP party needed to “close ranks” behind the presumed nominee. “This is no longer about past preferences or differences. It is about what is best for our country and for me that means that Republican should close ranks behind John McCain,” Thompson said in a statement reported by the Associated Press…

Related:
Fred Thompson Backs McCain, Washington Post
Conservatives Learn To Live With McCain, CBS News
Should Conservatives Back McCain?, Jonah Goldberg
McCain refines plan for general election, KansasCity.com
Redefining Conservatism, Cal Thomas

Discussion

13 thoughts on “>Attention Fred Heads: Thompson Endorses McCain

  1. >I like Huck but come on Mike, the party’s over. I can’t see why he would want to stay in the race when he knows he can’t win. Even more so for Ron Paul. You think these guys so enjoy the attention and perks that they can’t bring themselves to give it up?

    Posted by Jeff Bailey | February 13, 2008, 9:12 pm
  2. > “(This one isn’t so nice to McCain, but I’m not trying to focus on that so please don’t get offended)” These articles are a fair assessment. This is obviously not the same thing I pointed out before. It’s when they call voters the “New Axis of Evil” and compare them to Kim Jong Il that I think it goes over the top. :-)I will have to agree with you that it doesn’t hurt anything for Huckabee to stay in. I think it sends a message to McCain that he needs to hear. I also think Huckabee will fall out after Texas but we’ll see. He’s done well and deserves some recognition for that. Not too many people as conservative (religiously) as he is would have faired as well. He hiccuped a time or two but overall handled himself well.

    Posted by Mark Mathews | February 13, 2008, 6:11 pm
  3. >These aren’t negative articles so I hope you don’t mind me linking to them. (This one isn’t so nice to McCain, but I’m not trying to focus on that so please don’t get offended)Harassing Huckabee

    Posted by J.Wizzle | February 13, 2008, 2:23 pm
  4. >The link got cut off:Huck’s Hour of Power

    Posted by J.Wizzle | February 13, 2008, 2:19 pm
  5. >I know that McCain will be the nominee but I don’t see the harm with Huckabee staying in a little while. My guess is that he’ll drop out right after Texas.http://townhall.com/Columnists/PatrickJBuchanan/2008/02/12/hucks_hour_of_power

    Posted by J.Wizzle | February 13, 2008, 2:16 pm
  6. >”Look, Bush has publicly said John McCain is a “real conservative,”Alright, that settles it then. 🙂

    Posted by J.Wizzle | February 13, 2008, 2:11 pm
  7. > “I do agree that stirring things up with going back to these articles is not very helpful at this point.” BTW, have you read those articles, the second of which equates people voting for McCain with terrorists?

    Posted by Mark Mathews | February 13, 2008, 1:56 pm
  8. > “I’ve always said that the primary season is the time for vigorous in-house debate. When we have a nominee, that contest is over.” I’m all for vigorous in house debate. I think that is exactly what the primaries are for. The only issue I take is that what these guys were engaged in was not vigorous debate but character assassination. The political process is designed to work things out through vigorous debate. But the media in recent years has turned it into an entertainment thing. I’m like you, however, it’s time to move on and quit beating a dead horse. But the articles “winghunter” was suggesting we get “caught up” on was just more of the same. “I’m not sure about Rush but I’ve heard several others say weeks ago that they’d support the GOP whoever it was. I heard one say its too soon to line up behind the nominee since we don’t have one yet.” I can assure you that Rush has not come to this point yet even though I think it is pretty clear that we now have a nominee, although convincing Huckabee of that is a bit tough. But it’s his prerogative to keep fighting it out. No sense giving up! But knowing when it’s over is an art in itself. I just think the anti-McCain’s are having a tough time swallowing this one.

    Posted by Mark Mathews | February 13, 2008, 1:50 pm
  9. >I do agree that stirring things up with going back to these articles is not very helpful at this point.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | February 13, 2008, 1:06 pm
  10. >I guess it depends on how you want to look at it. I’m not sure about Rush but I’ve heard several others say weeks ago that they’d support the GOP whoever it was. I heard one say its too soon to line up behind the nominee since we don’t have one yet. I assume that will change once the delegate count is reached.I’ve always said that the primary season is the time for vigorous in-house debate. When we have a nominee, that contest is over. Everyone but those who have supported McCain from the beginning will have to “change course.” Isn’t this the time to do so? If I didn’t change course, I’d still be talking about Thompson and going after the other guys. It seems to me that this is exactly the time to change course. If the talk radio hosts did not do so we’d be hearing more about how they’re haters. Far right, hyper conservative, sensationalists, ideologues and haters is they oppose McCain. People pleasing, flip flopping, ratings chasers if they begin to support him now. Its funny. One of the exit poll questions is do you listen to talk radio? Now they say See! They’re irrelevant.I guess they way I think about it is a minority view. I think we can fight and debate like crazy for who we think the nominee should be until we have one. Then when we have the nominee we change our focus to the other party’s nominee. And the people who opposed the guy who eventually won the nomination shouldn’t have to be sell outs or lack character because they begin to support the nominee. Looks like they’re damned if they do and damned if they don’t right now. But I’m not going to be the resident Rush, Sean, etc. defender so I’ll stop trying to take up for them.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | February 13, 2008, 1:05 pm
  11. > “Time to catch up gentlemen” I’m afraid this is just more idiotic rancor from the political extremist wackos. Look, Bush has publicly said John McCain is a “real conservative,” Fred Thompson, the favorite of many conservatives, has announced his backing of McCain, and the rhetoric of Rush and others is doing exactly what it always does. Bush and Thompson, as well as others, know when it’s time to stop the foolishness. The problem arises when these small time wanna-be’s who get all whipped up in the fray of the big boys (Rush, Hannity, Coulter) don’t know when to quit or how to discern or think for themselves. Consequently, they continue this chatter after everyone else has calmed down. This is the collateral damage caused by the talk show circuit (less the more balanced, which are few). So thanks for the invite to get “caught up” but I am quite capable of examining the data for myself. I can come to my own conclusions but I choose to do so after having examined ALL the data, not just what someone else wants me to hear. By the way, the division in the Republican party cannot be blamed on caucuses, the way the primaries are set up, or anything else. Division is caused by people. Both parties have extremists, the Dems have theirs and we have ours. Ours just tend to be a bit more embarrassing at times. “Mark, looks like your prediction of several days ago was dead on.” Jeff, these things are not that hard to “predict.” I have been listening to these guys for a while, as I know you have. The same thing happens over and over. It’s just a marketing thing. Advertisers pay the big money for sensationalism, not boring facts.

    Posted by Mark Mathews | February 13, 2008, 9:44 am
  12. >Time to catch up gentlemen;How the Republican Party Committed National Suicide By JB Williamshttp://www.michnews.com/artman/publish/article_19227.shtml Who Hijacked the Primaries? by Brett Winterble http://www.humanevents.com/article.php?id=24726

    Posted by Winghunter | February 13, 2008, 6:27 am
  13. >Somehow I missed that story too but I did just read a news story that Rush is saying he’s doing a favor for McCain by blasting him and maybe he secretly wants him to win. Mark, looks like your prediction of several days ago was dead on. Think he’s trying to reverse course to swim with the tide of listeners and other conservatives now that McCain will be the nominee? Was he afraid of being left on the sidelines?That should stir the pot a little 🙂

    Posted by Jeff Bailey | February 13, 2008, 3:26 am

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
