//
Uncategorized

>Bob Hyatt on balance

>Since we have had prior posts on theological pit bulls, blog wars, and the need to tell the truth with love, I think that Bob’s post fits in with the type of dialogue that we think is important here at the Conservative Reformed Mafia. His post deals with the importance of telling the truth but doing so without neglecting love. It deals with that in the context of those who are part of the emerging church debate. I think that both ‘sides’ could learn something from his post.

Click the link below to read the article. Let me know your thoughts on it.

Link: ‘Balance…’ by Bob Hyatt

Discussion

4 thoughts on “>Bob Hyatt on balance

  1. >Yeah. I couldn’t resist the classical references either. 🙂

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | November 12, 2007, 3:25 pm
  2. >”I succumbed to temptation and posted in said comments section over there. I spotted one of my pet peeve rhetorical moves, and I fell.Mea culpa.”As Aristotle or Cicero would say, “You freak!” 🙂

    Posted by Jeff Wright | November 12, 2007, 3:06 pm
  3. >I succumbed to temptation and posted in said comments section over there. I spotted one of my pet peeve rhetorical moves, and I fell.Mea culpa.I think that one pitfall that comes with thoughts like Hyatt’s is to assume that the truth half of “speak the truth in love” is already settled, dried, and pinned to a wood block. I do think that the godfather of the CRM (he did name us, after all) does point to (without articulating) the valid point that the seeking of truth, even within confessional bounds, is never complete on this side of glory.

    Posted by Nathan P. Gilmour | November 12, 2007, 11:37 am
  4. >The title of his post says a lot: “Balance.” So much error, extremism, and radical pendulum swings could be avoided if we all sought balance more than we do. I like that he offers constructive criticism of his own camp, so to speak. We need more of that. I’m much more interested in critiquing evangelicalism for the sake of reform than I am in going to battle with “those” emergers. It was disappointing to see an emerging fundamentalist we’re familiar with try to go to battle against such a reasonable post in the comments section. Reminds me of a self-stlyed blog warrior on the conservative side who likes to show up and do battle any time one of his own is even mildly criticized. Sad.Bob was right-on when he mentioned “What I tend to see on the other side is a lot of backslapping and high-fiving of petty insults and put downs that I think truly grieves the heart of God.” This is highly prevalent amongst conservative blogs, the “other side” he’s referring to. The insults and mockery is disgusting and has nothing to do with polemics or apologetics. Passing off mockery & ridicule under the guise of standing for truth is a sham. If you say such a thing on their blogs you will be mocked as the “Charity Police.” “…realize that a truth that conforms to me, and my ideas about God rather than one that conforms me to it, probably isn’t really worth believing.”I was glad to read this statement. I would certainly applaud the spread of such a commitment within the emerging church.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | November 11, 2007, 4:31 pm

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
