//
Uncategorized

>A personal shout out to Desiring God Ministries

>Recently, John Piper’s ministry Desiring God had a $5 online book promotion. You could visit the website and purchase as many books as you like for $5 each! I’ve read “Don’t Waste Your Life” for a Community Group Bible Study, and really enjoyed it, so I thought I’d check out more of his books through this special offer. I received a letter in the mail, along with a complimentary copy of “The Dangerous Duty of Delight”, letting me know that my selections were on their way.
From the letter:
You should know that Desiring God maintains a ‘whatever-you-can-afford’ policy for most of the items we sell. If a particular product would be helpful to you, but you lack sufficient funds, just pay whatever you can afford – even if it’s nothing – and we’ll happily send it to you.
We’re able to freely give to others because God freely gives to us through generous supporters. John Piper personally receives no salary or royalty from DG nor does he keep any royalties from the sales of his books. All donation and sales revenue is invested directly back into vision-spreading ministry.”
In the spirit of Steven Colbert, and in light of “our Grace”, I hereby nominate John Piper for Alpha Dog of the Week for his continued efforts to spread the Gospel and the joy of Christ to any and all who would receive it.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “>A personal shout out to Desiring God Ministries

  1. >That was great! I ordered 5 books…they just came in yesterday.

    Posted by J.Wizzle | August 12, 2007, 4:14 pm
  2. >Yeah, that was a great sale. I didn’t buy anything because I’m swimming in books right now. I’ve known about their policy concerning paying what you can afford. I’ve never used it before but its great that they offer that. I don’t know if smaller ministries are unable to afford to have a similar policy or they’re just unwilling.

    Posted by Jeff Wright | August 12, 2007, 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

From the Vault

Friend of Grace

Photobucket
All articles © 2007-2011 by the respective authors of the Conservative Reformed Mafia. All Rights Reserved.
